Long Island Advocate earns six honors in PCLI contest

Madeline Armstrong, left, and Megan Naftali, Long Island Advocate editors and Press Club of Long Island honorees.

The Long Island Advocate, the online multimedia platform based at Hofstra University’s Herbert School of Communication, last week took home six honors in the 2022 Press Club of Long Island Awards — two in the professional category and four in the student category.

Honors were presented at the annual PCLI Media Awards dinner, held this year at the Melville Marriott June 2. More than 170 journalists from across Long Island attended.

Advocate Editor Madeline Armstrong earned first and second place, respectively, for Environment Coverage in the pro category for her packages, “Innovative technology offers hope for toxic Agawam Lake” and “Removal of toxic Bethpage plume under way after decades of contamination.”

Blake Waldron received first place for Investigative Reporting in the student category for his piece, “Nassau Jail death leads to contraband questions.”

Micaela Erickson took second place for News Story in the student category for her story, “Uniondale Community Land Trust sells first home.”

Kristan Bravo earned second place for Sports Reporting in the student category for her piece, “‘A dynamic woman’: How one Stony Brook volleyball player works for social change off court.”

And Magda Tsiklauri, a graduate student, received third place for Sports Reporting in the student category for her article, “Merab ‘The Machine’ Making His Way in the UFC.”

Additionally, Advocate Editor Megan Naftali recently received the annual Robert W. Greene Press Club of Long Island Scholarship, named for the famed Newsday Pulitzer Prize winner and Hofstra University journalism professor. She was recognized at the awards dinner.

Journalism Professor Scott Brinton, The Advocate’s faculty editor and adviser, took four honors, including two first-place and two second-place awards, in the pro category for his work last year with Herald Community Newspapers. Brinton, PCLI’s immediate past president, was honored in the Breaking News, Column, Editorial and Headline Writing categories.